What is Standard?

Standard is a rotating group of Magic: The Gathering sets. Most sets enter Standard when they're released and drop out about eighteen months later.

A card is Standard if it has been printed or reprinted into a set currently in Standard.

A deck which contains only Standard cards is called a Standard deck.

Rotation patterns

The set rotation pattern for Standard is currently in a two-year transitory phase between the previous set release pattern and the upcoming one.

The new pattern's changes

Effects on Standard

The transitory phase

The Theros block and 2015 Core Set will drop out together, as in the old rotation pattern.

The Khans of Tarkir block and Magic Origins, although released in the old style, will drop out in the new; Khans of Tarkir and Fate Reforged will drop out together as if they were a two-set block, followed by Dragons of Tarkir and Magic Origins in the same fashion six months later.

After that, all sets will be both released and dropped in the new style.